Painful and lonely separation

First off, this website rocks and I've felt much better reading through all of your posts.

My story briefly: Met my wife at the hospital where her dad was having surgery. I was an intern at the time. We exchanged info, had a whirlwind romance and fell in love. She moved in with me four months later. Two years later, we were engaged (asked her in France by the Eiffel Tower), and we were married in November 2004. Seven months later, after a particularly nasty argument, she left me and moved to her house in another city.

Things she told me: She is tired of the arguing, the fact that I didn't have sex with her as much as she wanted, of the fact I never made an effort in our relationship to take charge as a husband. It is true that she handled ALL the details of our life together (she organized all vacations, managed finances, cooked for me, etc.) I am a resident and used that quite often as an excuse for not having the energy or time to do those things (which was true some of the time as well). She has told me she has no hope for our relationship, she has checked out of the marriage, is going to live as a single woman (we're just separated right now) who will date other people, and that I should do the same. She says she needs time and space to sort through things.