Would YOU have done the same?

Hello! I am a newbie and in DESPERATE need of advice. I've been with this guy Chris for 5 yrs. I am 31, he is 39. He was with somebody before me for 13 yrs. and their relationship was rocky. He ended up leaving her for me. I know that this girl Chris used to be with still talks to Chris's father from time to time. Because of that, his father and I never got along and he could never accept me. Chris and his father don't really have a great relationship either and do not really see eachother.

The other night I was over Chris's house and I thought it was strange when he told me that the following day he was going to go visit his father. I asked him why and he said that there was a few things that he needed to get off his chest and had to talk to him. The next day when I got to work, I went online and broke into Chris's phone account and looked at his phone record. I found a strange number so I called it. It was a company....but something told me to ask for this girl. My response? She wasn't working that day and call back tomorrow! My stomach has been sick ever since then. On Chris's phone bill, he called her on 11/18 for 6 minutes and on 11/28 for 15 minutes.

When I confronted him and told him what I did and asked why he called her, he totally flipped on me! He told me that his father gave her his phone number and she left a message on his phone telling him that her mother is dying. BUT he said it wasn't her that he talked to at that number and that it was her brother that he talked to. Supposively her and her brother work at the same company.