What are you tips for being in a friends with benefits relationship?

Newbie here. I know you guys are tough so be gentle.

Background: The person I may enter into this with lives in another country. We talk every day (almost) and so far we have NOT had sex. We are really close. He knows better than any friend. We met each other right when we both ended really bad marriages in SF 2 yrs ago. I like him a lot but he only wants to be my F**k buddy. He claims we are not F**k buddies but friends with benefits. I told him in this country (USA) there is no difference. He claims he cares but I dont know. I dont seem to know anymore.

Island Girl

There is little to no benefit for a woman. Especially if the woman already feels emotions stronger than just friendship for the man (which you profess in your post).

Unfortunately (or fortunately depending upon how you view the situation) women are wired to link emotion and sex. For us, it draws us to the other person and it is in itself an act of intimacy.

For men, they can separate feelings and sex quite easily.

For them sex is not intimacy. They very much can have sex with someone they are not interested in or even greatly attracted to.

FWB is a set up that benefits the man and usually turns out badly for the woman.

Island Girl
Well I'm a guy and what you say isn't true for me at all.

Then you aren't typical. There are always exceptions to the rule.

However, just as the OP said -- this guy wants benefits (only wants sex other than JUST a friendship) nothing more. No romance. He is clearly stating he doesn't want it to lead anywhere.

So he IS a guy that can separate sex and more emotional feelings.

Newbie here. I know you guys are tough so be gentle.