What do y'all make of this??

I've had this guy friend for almost 10 years. We met when I was an intern at the TV station he worked at. At the time, I was a young 20-year-old kid and involved in a very bad, abusive relationship. He was also with someone. But, he followed me around that day and I knew he liked me. I liked him, too. I thought he had nice, kind eyes and warm hands. He asked me out. I thought hard about it, and with a pit feeling in my stomach because I wanted so badly to say yes, I told him no, that I was involved already with someone. The truth was, I didn't want to be with my then-boyfriend anymore, but was too scared to leave him.

A few months after that, I met the man who is now my husband. He and I get along mostly well, but we've had some problems here and there. My husband has issues with depression and every once in awhile completely snaps and breaks stuff in the house. So I am going to counseling wtih him because he can't destroy the stuff we've worked so hard for and I can't take this stuff anymore.

Meanwhile, my friend and I have maintained a rather strange correspondence over the years. He eventually married the girl he was with, but at different times over the years, both he and I told each other our feelings for each other and admitted to loving one another. We would talk all of the time either via email or phone. Eventually, as he and I both got more involved with our significant others, now our spouses, we agreed that we shouldn't talk so much because we didn't want to do anything that was going to hurt them. His significant other, now wife found some emails he and I had exchanged and was very hurt, so I told my friend that the last thing I wanted to be was a homewrecker.