What do I do next?

Hey all, a little quick info here: Im 18 and I've never had a girlfriend before, I go to college in fairly small city/town, so Im kinda new at this stuff. I just met up with a girl I knew a few years ago for and Im interested in her, we hung out with some friends for the night. She is now single, and said that more than once that night. I talked to her later (online) and she gave me her number and said keep that number in touch. Id assume this is good. However here is the little twist, a few of my friends seem to show interest in her too. She lives pretty far away too, so Im not sure what I should do. I dont really care to get a bunch of people pissed off at me. How long is too long to not call? and do I need a reason to call, and of course I dont what I should call about? she since returned back home by the way.

Ill admit it, I am the grand master of hesitating and Ive let a few chances slip by me already, but Im getting tired of it so I figure maybe its about time to do things a little different.

DerangedAngel
However here is the little twist, a few of my friends seem to show interest in her too.

I'm not male, and I really have no idea how men react to these kinds of things - that is if you're close friends with them. If you aren't close, of course they will be pissed. Really I can only tell you how I would react if a friend of mine were to try and steal my "new love interest". I would probably be upset if she knew I liked this person. If she didn't know, I would hold nothing against her. I suspect most females would feel like this. Unless they're insanely jealous. :) Definitely don't throw away good friendships for a relationship that hasn't even started. That's my opinion anyway.

She lives pretty far away too, so Im not sure what I should do.

If you're not into pursuing a long-distance relationship (warning: they can be hard as hell to maintain. I'm in one), why not make a good friend?