Waited 14 years for him, have I ruined everything?

I fell in love with a man nearly 15 years ago, but I was so young (finishing high school) while he was 30, we had met at my summer job and I didn't tell him how I felt. Summer ended, I moved to a new school, he got married. I was devastated and cried often. I always looked forward to seeing him again during Christmas and holidays, just to say hello. We never did anything physical.

A few years ago I graduated and moved back. He was at the same hospital where I got a job, so we saw each other often. He now had kids, and was friendly but professional.

To my surprise, one day he joined a local social group I belonged to for many years. We began seeing a lot more of each other after work at various social events. I would often catch him standing in the doorways staring at me, or from across the room. But whenever we spoke, it was strictly business, and I was confused by the mixed signals but said nothing.

Then things got strange. I remember at one event his wife approached me and started bragging about what a great husband he is, how in love with her he is, didn't I agree? All the details of the time they went to the beach and had sex on the sand. Then she went over to several other men and put her hands on them in a very sexual way, as if to say, my husband will chase after me no matter how badly I humiliate him. See?

One of his co-workers said he caught her cheating about a year ago. But he didn't file for D because of his three young kids. She began coming to his office every day. You could hear them screaming at each other down the hall, she called him pathetic because he doesn't make enough money and screamed he was a worthless father. His partner said he was nearly bankrupt from massive loans he had taken out for an expensive car and house, and now there were debt collectors after him.

THIS IS WHERE THINGS WENT WRONG: