Need , good friend rejected me, don't know next step

Yankees4331

I am a freshman going to college in Ohio. This weekend, I traveled to New York where a good friend of mine who's a girl is attending school. She is also a freshman and Ijust this summer became good friends with her. We went to different middle and high schools and I only know her because her mom and my mom went to school together and are best friends.

We've been texting extremely frequently for the past two months or so and also skype for hours sometimes at night. I never text this girl first (kinda to gauge her interest)but she texts me every day and whatnot. I started off as friends with her but then about 2 weeks ago she started to ask me to come and visit her. She said that itd be a great time and what not.

In this two months, one night i talked to her on skype and expressed without actually saying that i liked her by saying that i havent met a girl at school yet that is as awesome as her. This might have led her to invite me to visit her at school???

So, I, wanting to see if there was any chemistry by hanging out with her in person for the first time since summer, go to New York this weekend. It started off great, she waited for me at the airport for an hour before my flight arrived and we immediately hit it off. She showed me around her campus, her dorm, we got lunch and it just seemed like it was a good fit. Anyway, I'm being casual, making jokes and whatnot, haven't really expressed my interest for her yet. We go out to dinner and then catch a movie. Again, all good.