How do I know if my girlfriend is actually cheating on me?

Hello, i'm new at this so i hope i dont make an ass out of myself.....

My girlfriend and I have been going out for over a year now and lately i've been getting the destinct impression that she is cheating on me. The first time i thought that she was cheating on me was when I saw her at work talking to this guy, but they seemed a little too close to each other just to be talking...(if you know what i mean), i got really jealous, said "i gotta go, I'll see you later." to my girlfriend, and drove in a frenzy to my brother (who is my guide!!!)and told him this. He does not like Michelle (my girlfriend), but he said something doesn't seem right, it doesnt sound like her...go talk to her about this...so i did. Michelle got extremely defensive, angry, and short tempered with me, and i checked both of their stories out. They both told the same stories, so i dropped it.

About a week ago, after a mind altering love-making session, i got out of bed and found her on the computer chatting to a "friend". We have argued about this so called "friend" as when i picked up her phone once the other line said, "so did you get the underwear and the tickets?" (i did not drop that issue, and she said that she would stop talking to him if it would keep us together because she said she loves me) So i catch her talking to this friend and i say playfully, OOOOOOO who is this!!, hmmmmmmm!!!!! At this point michelle was kissing my cheek and trying to divert my attention away from the computer, and then i read, "so are you comming this time?" the responce was "yea". i got a little frustraded and began to talk to her about this, and she said that she wanted to go and that plans were not totally set in stone, but because i like climbing she wanted to go and climb out where he lived (seattle, washington).