Dating vs FWB? Difference?

I was married for 10yrs, and now newly divorced. I dated exclusively my now exhusband 6 yrs prior to marrying him.

So, as you can see, I am really new to the "being single" scene.

Please help me decipher. What is the difference in dating someone new and fwb. I understand sex can be involved in both situations. But, when dating someone new...you can't expect to be completely exclusive, nor committed to calling. And while dating someone new, sex is something that may occur. And this goes for FWB as well. I am confused!:o

I "think" I have been involved as FWB up until lately...but I will save that for another post.

The difference is that with FWB, one of the two people involved is inherently not interested in being in a committed relationship with the other. That should not be the case with dating.

• Author

Thank you for your responses...

I guess I am being told to "get out there and date" or "date" around. So I would assume that wouldn't be committed to one person?

Do you go on first date... wait a few weeks...maybe go out again. Should you remain committed during the two week period at first?

I just don't know.

I have been seeing this guy, who has bought me dinner, gone to a movie, etc...and we have had sex...we see each other every couple of weeks. Yet, he says he doesn't want a relationship right now. And now I recently found out there is another woman in the pic occasionally...So is the dating and getting to know other women that could turn into more? Do I have the right to say...it's only me and no one else after 4months of seeing each other every couple of weeks? I am beginning to care about him...:(