Letting go while staying close- How??

First, some background. Unusual as any of this may sound, I make none of it up.

I'm in my first year of University and the guy my former roommate set me up to hang out with is 8 years older, and living out of his van. Quite frankly, I can't be bothered to care about his living situation.

He's become my closest friend here, my rock climbing mentor, and sleeps over once in a while, though there is nothing sexual anymore. We're both a little crazy, and I fell for him instantly only to have him tell me three weeks after we met (during which we'd cuddled, kissed, and did somewhat sexual stuff) that while he liked me, found me attractive, and considered dating me he didn't think we should date and gave me the reasons, which all center around me not being up to his standards. I'm busy with school, am not independent of my parents, and I can't keep up with him on his rock climbing trips [yet] which he goes on almost every weekend. It also came out that he'd been chasing some girl with a bf for months...and due to a mis-communication he thought I was aware of this and that I was only looking for friends with benefits. That was extremely painful, but instead of cutting contact I decided to draw the line at cuddling and we remained friends. I eventually let go of any hope for a relationship, though I still had feelings for him, because he seemed so sure that the girl he was waiting on would go for him. She didn't.

He's over her now but the reasons he wouldn't date me still stand.

How do I LET HIM GO?

I do not want to consider cutting him off completely.

That's out of the question. It's very rare [actually, it's only happened once, and this is it] that I find a friend I can be myself around instantly, or that is willing to go camping and do outdoor sports as often as I'd like to, and I found one. I'm not willing to loose that.