Is he SOOOO not into me anymore, and I just cant see it???

I can't figure this one out. I have a bf of over 2 yrs. We have had trust issues in the past (me not trusting him), but he literally BEGGED me to take him back b/c he wanted to prove to me he had changed and he loved me, etc. He always talks about what we're going to name our kids, and how when I'm a doctor he wouldnt mind staying at home with the babies. So anyway, I am pretty much set to leave for med school in August. We decided we would break up when I leave, just b/c we both thought it would be really overwhelming, adn that if we wanted, we could work it out and get back together. He's going out of state in mid-february for 3 months and will return in may. My initial reaction was, oh my god, but i'll miss you so much and i can't see you everyday! his was, so maybe we should break up when i go. so, i can't help feeling like he wants to go off and play around!!! i cant understand why he would consider us splitting now, when we could visit each other during the time apart, and then reunite for the summer months before i leave. He says its not about other girls, but i cant help but be disheartened, and feel like he broke something. i just feel differently when i see him. he says that whats the point of being together and putting in all that effort and having all that stress, when the breaukup in august is coming. but i think the effort and stress is in breaking up prematiurely! unless of course, he's over me....but it doesnt seem the case b/c he wants to be near me every second of the day. he practically lives with me, takes me to all the ffamily get togethers, pays for anything (b/c he works full time and i am a student.) we;re both 24, almost 25...and i'm trying hard to read btwn the lines. the best thing i could think up was that he wants to break up so he has a perfect way to get over the pain of it while doing it while he's so far away. iknow guys and girls will avoid heartache at any price... but i a