Friends w Benefits

Hi.

I am new to this forum, and I am new to the whole relationship and dating scene. I was married for 10 years, and now divorced. I've started dating again, and I am now considering changing my perspective on Dating and what I would like in a life partner.

I am a traditional person, so I thought. I am not sure what I am doing, that is why I am here.

I have jumped into every relationship I have been in quite quickly, and it was hard and fast, peaked to early and didn't last long. Since I have been seperated and divorced from my ex, I have had 2 6 mth long relationships where I have fallen in love and been hurt, and it's not them doing the dumping. Its me. (for good and obvious reasons, like stealing, lieing, etc etc.)

What specifically is bringing this all on is one person. I do not want to compromise my moral values for any man. That is important to me.

But, I am into this guy, and I have been doing the friend with benefits things for about a month with him. That is something I wouldn't normally do. It is either me or it isn't (because, I am who I am, and if you don't want me, you can go) Right? Fair enough.

I am falling hard, and wondering what I need to do now.

Here is how it went.

He was really sweet and nice, and has gone out of his way to do things for me. I took notice and I liked it. We live in the same building, so we know each other a little bit.

Then, he finally came to me and said "I like you" and put it out there on the table. He touched my leg and said "date me"

He is a man who has been hurt, I can tell. And now, I know.

So things were going great, but then I began feeling like I had to hid something. Friends would drop by to either of our apartments and it was hard not to touch eachother and be "ourselves" around eachother. So I said something and here we are now.

I asked him if he was going to "date me" because I didn't know where we were at and this is the response I got.