Please HELP im still in love with a cheater...Men- can they change??...

Ok, so i am a little new at this- I was in a long serious committed relationship with a guy who of course i thought was everything. We had talked marrage (and come to find out he had gotten me a ring for chirstmas.) I had never felt a love like that before, and for about 7 months of the relationship it was long distance. But we still made time to see each other about every 3-4 weeks, and many hours on the phone.

About a week before christmas i had a gut feeling suspision, and contacted his ex-girlfriend. To my surprise he had cheated on me twice with her, and had been keeping her on a string just in case we didnt work out. But apparently he had told her about a week before i found out that he didnt want anything to do with her, and finally told her he has a girlfriend and was in love with her.

I was just torn to pieces, couldn't eat, couldn't sleep. Had horrible images in my head. just wanted to die.

But i continued to talk to him and argue with him everyday. He ruined my christmas, and took my happiness away from me. all of my hopes & dreams of a future withhim were takin out from under me. I was so good to him too, i was going to give up everything for him, i never even looked at another guy i was so in love with him. and he played it off so well.. was so sincere. i felt like such a fool, i blammed myself i got sickly thin. And then I turned bitter.