Not sure where to go next with best friend

This is a long one so I apologise in advance for wall of text.

I met this girl at university and admittedly at first I did not feel any sort of attraction to her. However over the past year we have became very close and well I can categorically say that no one has been this kind to me for years. Needless to say that I have developed feelings for this person however I am not very good at approaching the subject and I'm plagued with the fact i like to wait till I'm 100% sure of the outcome, so I'm a lot slower at asking than other people.

With this all in mind, I decided to confide in my friend, who listened and agreed to help assess the situation and bring us closer together. For the first month this was great, we spent more time together and it was good fun.

Now for the depressive part. To say the least I am destroyed over all of this as I found out last night that my so called friend, had taken advantage of the situation (That I had to take things slower than people normally would) and decided to begin dating her. I still do not know why but the very next day I asked to meet with him face to face (not to knock seven shades out of him which surprised me and him). WE talked for a good 3-4 hours about the whole situation. However I left him with the thought that I can never forgive him for this betrayal.

Anyway a bunch of us had already had booked up a weekend holiday (of which the girl in question was going but the guy was not). Needless to say this holiday was not a holiday for me at all, because no matter how hard I tried I just struggled to talk to her the way I used to. She knows me like no other person has ever before and can pick up when I'm not myself, so she manages to get me on my own at some point and we go for a long walk in the middle of the night.