My journal of a co-worker I asked out and the aftermath

1. I am a teacher. My coworker began here her first year in August.

2. I wasn't attracted to her right away. It was around October that as I slowly began to interact with her more that I began liking her.

3. I asked her out in early March 2015. She said she was flattered but that she doesn't want to date her first year of teaching. I took it as a friendly rejection BUT with a slight (even if ever so slightly) glimmer of hope. There is a 1% chance she had made that very pact before I asked her out, and is a woman of her word. I know, highly unlikely, but not entirely impossible.

4. We exchanged numbers (finally) in April. We started texting each other a LOT. And by a lot I mean A LOT. i.e. an hour back and forth pretty much non-stop. What do we text? Silly witty banter stuff. A lot of one upmanship, a lot of little games, and "friendly fire" as I like to call it.

5. I played a prank on her at school, and she's been threatening to get me back ever since. This helped increase the playfulness and the fun of our friendship.

6. I got so confused at one point in late April/early May 2015 if maybe she was changing her tune on me. I went to her grade level partner, whom she is close with and told I had asked her out back in March, if "Tiffany" (my crush's name let's say) has changed her mind about dating me. She said "Sorry Tek, Tiff recently told me she only sees you as a friend." That was kind of crushing, and after which I had a bit of a tough time separating the silly playfulness of the work friendship from the fact that it isn't anything beyond that.

7. Today she punched me in the nose on accident when she drew something a bit indiscriminating, and I refused to give it back to her. She tried to yank it away, I turned my face and her knuckles grazed my nose. She was highly apologetic, and it was just kind of funny the whole situation.