Negative reactions to academic concepts relating to society and culture

I have been studying psychosocial studies for the past three years and am about to enter into a master's degree in ethnicity and culture. This degree has completely opened my eyes to the ways in which the world operates - politically, religiously, socially, and psychologically. The degree I was on was not in any way 'militant' or trying to push any specific agenda, and was great fun to be on and to be around likeminded people. 

The literature I have read over the past few years has given me answers to many questions and worries I had about the world - my own experience as a black woman, for example. I was often not able to put a name to the things I'd experienced, and this degree put a lot into perspective. It provided answers and concepts for many other things, too - the way in which narcissistic leaders operate, who they prey on. Or how groups operate, and how the psychological make up of a person in a group is influenced, for example. 

Obviously, we are in a moment where race is the 'hot topic', and this is something that's debated often. 

One example is, I was engaged in a conversation with someone about the singer Beyoncé Knowles, and her visual album 'Lemonade'. I have studied this album extensively as part of my thesis. It contains many interwoven references to feminism, motherhood, racial tensions, police brutality, etc. It uses distinct visual imagery such as plantation houses or traditional antebellum clothing, women standing in groups, use of color symbolism, etc. This album (and this surprised me) has countless academic papers, journals, books, even - devoted to its content.