How to greet a woman?

its_me_123

Hi there,

I am very new to dating and also on the shy side so I was wondering how I should greet the woman I am meeting? I had a date the other day and we just said hi and started walking, but wasn't sure if I was meant to hug her or anything?

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

12 minutes ago, its_me_123 said:

I had a date the other day and we just said hi and started walking, but wasn't sure if I was meant to hug her or anything?

Follow their lead. If they reach out say, for a handshake or hug then reciprocate.

With regards to handshakes or hugs, I agree that you should follow their lead.   And make sure to have a warm smile

• Like 1

Another key element when using online dating apps is to meet as soon as mutually possible. This avoids building up an impression in your mind or a sense of false intimacy.

For example after a couple of messages suggest continuing the conversation in person over a drink/coffee.

Try not to overshare or give out too much personal info. 

The reason for this is that online dating is a misnomer. It should be "apps that have a collection of people in your area looking to meet someone".

Even the first meeting is not really a date because you don't know this person. Perhaps in the past this would have been called a blind date.

So in summary, meet sooner rather than later and don't overinvest in strangers.

• Like 1

First date hugs are always nice.

At the end of a date, a guy I dated asked before hugging me.

Do what you are comfortable with and don't press your date to do something they are uncomfortable with. If she pulls away, abandon ship.

Friendly, natural, and warm touch is ideal.

Like helping her out of the car, or guiding her through crowded restaurants with your hand.

That kind of thing.

• Like 1

Assuming you meet without extended periods of online contact.