Re: Married to an alchoholic

I've been married for 7 years, to an alchoholic. He is a hard worker and I know he loves me, but when he's drunk, I can't stand him. He is not physically abusive, but verbal - about every other time. The drinking is about 2-3 times a week. My patience is wearing thin. Not to mention he needs, or wants, pills or some other form of drug along with his drinking. He seems to think it makes him "Not seem so drunk!" Let me also state that he about a year ago hired a prostitute while I was visiting my family in another state. Which was not the first time, but it hasn't happened since. Question is, I have been talking to a male friend that I have known for about 13 years. I had always been head heels for him, but it never worked out because I moved (for work) after I graduated. For over a year now, we have been talking on a weekly basis. This guy is wonderful, and has every quality in a man that I am looking for and more. I feel something for him that I have NEVER felt for anyone before. He also is in a miserable relationship, but is not married. Don't get me wrong, my husband is a great guy, but I do want to have children some day, and I get sick of crying every weekend, because he didn't come home all night or drove home drunk from who knows where. He said he has no intention of ever quitting drinking and that's the way I met him. I met him when I was 18 and he was 22. Not ever knowing an alchoholic, I figured he'd grow out of it. What should I do??

Hi Diane

What should you do...get out of it!

I can tell you a bit from a different point of view.