Did I blow it?

OK, so the divorce has been final for just over 6 months. Friends told me I need to start looking at dating again, and while I wasn't overly thrilled with the prospect, I logged into an adult site and started looking around within a local radius. One guy sent me a note asking if we'd ever met (we hadn't), and we started IMing each other for a few days. As it turned out, we knew a lot of the same people, have children the same age, several things that could have possibly made this worth pursuing.

So...two things....one, he asked for a picture (I hadn't posted one since my divorce was rather public and I just didn't want the hassle, you know?), so I sent one. Second, I checked with one of our mutual friends (his former boss) about him. In this day and age I figured better to be safe than sorry, right? Well, his old boss mentioned that I'd asked about him, and I think it pissed him off! He's stopped IMing me and emailing.

So, have I blown it? I'm new to this dating scene after 20 years! Help!

hmm ok here are my two points:

#1.) did the guy stop iming you after you sent the pic? if he did then he obviously didnt find you attractive enough in his tastes to pursue you further.

#2.) yes you did sort of blow it when you asked your mutual friend about him. That shows a sort of distrust that you have of this guy, i know what you meant by being safe then sorry, but its more like your being sorry for being safe here. Also you never really met the guy, so why are you trying to get a background check on him? if you really want to know things about him, i would strongly advise referring to his peers and friends for info. Who better then himself to tell you more about himself?