Need some advice

dark elf

Let me start by telling you about me and my wife. We've been married a little over 4 months now, had been dating nearly 6 years prior to marriage, and living together a year and a half prior to marriage. She is 25, has an associates degree in culinary arts, and works as a pastry chef. I am 24, have a bachelors in computer info systems, and I work as a technical service manager.

While we love each other very much, we are pretty close to being exact opposite people emotionally. She is an extrovert - always socializing, going out, spending time with friends, etc. I on the other hand am a total introvert, and prefer quiet nights at home together, and maybe going out to eat or the movies.

Lately we have been having problems with our relationship, and she attributes alot of it to my inability to convey my emotions. When I try to put my emotions into words or on paper, all I generally come up with is a mixture confusion, anger, frustration and sadness. I can't easily explain what or how I'm feeling.

I think that my emotional responses where shaped early on, as my parents were very withdrawn as to their emotions, and also adding to this I was never in the in-crowd in school, and for most of my early childhood had no or very few friends, and was teased on a daily basis. I've struggled with depression for as long as I can remember, sometimes to the point of contemplating suicide, although I know it's something I could never go through with. As a result of all this I've been very withdrawn emotionally, and the happyness I try to convey externally is rarely mirrored internally. I've always tried to be the nice guy, the one who nothing fazes. I've always tried to give selflessly to make other happy, and generally my efforts have been met with my being taken advantage of or shunned. I have always dealt with my emotional problems by just ignoring them, or discounting them.