I dont want to scare him off but I want a relationship!

Fellas help a fellow sister out ;) Ive met this great guy online (ugh i know) and we recently hooked up and everything was fantastic, realistically. I mean we totally hit it off, went on incredible dates and well you know, basically EVERYTHING was perfect, compatible, hot... Like in the movies. We're like the best of friends and im just smitten right now... yup the good old euphoric beginning stage....So then...

out of curiosity I just casually mentioned like what are your views on marriage (I secretly was thinking about us lol but Id NEVER tell, im studying psychology so thats my exuse hah) and he said well he is the kind of person that believes in the steps of taking it slow at first and like seeing where it goes u know like getting to really KNOW her first before hooking up and sealing the deal for real..

Then he said its not like after a week of meeting u id ask u to marry me! So I took that as

It was some way of telling me that he wasnt looking at me futuristically OR that he wants to still leave the door open in case other 'opportunities' arrive. Now i know this sounds silly maybe im just looking at this all wrong coz his actions really proved to me that he is a caring, understanding guy. He is like one of those people that u always wanted to meet but thought u never would until it hit u over the head it was your best friend all along, the one who u always leaned on his shoulder, took care of u and had good n bad times..who called u just to wish u a good nite standing out side in blizzard cold temps. Like the person who pretty much would do ANYTHING for u. That kind of friend.