Young Alcoholic

Messed Up

I am a law student. I used to get great grades. I had great friends, I had a challenging job. Now I am barely passing class, my friends have deserted me, and I am running so far behind at work I am in danger of being fired. This has all happened over 6 months, and if I am honest I can put almost all of it down to alcohol. I started to go out clubbing, getting drunk 4 - 5 nights a week and spending the rest of my time recovering. Not only that, but I began to get involved with some dodgy characters - club owners, bar tenders, drug dealers... I lost my virginity to some guy coz he owns the coolest club in town. It's something I will regret for the rest of my life. Although I realise all of this, I can't stop drinking. The worse my life becomes, the more I need to escape. I can't ever just have one drink - I always have to get drunk. Anyway i am writing this to warn others that alcoholism can happen to anyone, even a young, intelligent woman like myself. It's ruined my life, I'm so f***ed.

You have not ruined your life. But I am warning you that this forum does not allow the use of profanity here, and I'm afraid your post may be deleted by site management. I will paste and repost your post without the expletive to ensure that you will be heard.

You are RUINING, but have not RUINED your life. I encourage you to inquire if there are provisions that might allow you a temporary leave of absence from work and/or school due to medical reasons. Alcoholism IS a medical reason. The school will have to hold that reason in the utmost confidence, and you will be protected by federal privacy laws. Alcoholism is a disease, just like any other.

I encourage you to seek out Alcoholics anonymous...TODAY. I encourage you to make use of all the people at school, counselors or otherwise that are there to help you.