When someone says "get over it"

RustyRazors

:mad:

Well, my past was filled with extreme mental abuse from my family and sexual from moms drunken boyfriends. Mother would watch as the sexual abuse was taken in place, and later she called me names like whore for allowing men to harm me. I always visit communities to share my story and to meet others who suffered the same.

The thing is I opened up to a co-worker about 2 months ago. I never eally talked to her even though I have been working with her for a few years. We became close after we mover together to a different building and always worked side by side. She asked me one day what was bothering me. And she said I could talk to her about anything, to trust her. I wrote her a note explaing that I suffer from bulimia, cutting and an abusive past. She sounded worried yet not very caring.

She said I need "to get over evrything" "stop living in the past" or else I will never live.

How do I explin to her that you cant simpliy forget everything that happened to you, and its not easy as it sound to "forgive and forget"

She sees I am uncomfortable when guys flirt with me, and expects me to take them up on offers like she does.

Am I wrong or is she wrong?

Or are we both wrong about the whole......forget about it thing.

Will she ever get it...and will I ever be able to put it behind me?

First, let me say I am sorry to hear this has happened to you....!!!!