Does he like me or not?

lady_of_magrathea

lady_of_magrathea

To make a long story short, I am a 22 year old grad student who's in a long distance relationship with a guy in another state. He's been kind of neglectful and not investing as much energy in the relationship as I have, so my attentions have turned to someone more local...the RA in my building, who's 20. Originally, we just had small talk whenever we passed in the hallway. Sometimes he is friendly and sometimes he isn't, so I concluded he must not like me.

This past week, however, he acted different. Seeing me in the study lounge one night, he invited me to a hall social. A couple of nights later, he found me in the cafeteria and poked me. When I went to sit down, he followed me to the table. We talked for almost an hour. He told me about an online relationship that hadn't worked out and mentioned that he was looking for a relationship. When I suggested he try older women, he said, "I like older girls, but most of them don't give me the time of day because I'm younger." On the way out, he invited me to eat breakfast with him and his friends on Sunday (that was canceled). He also acted silly, talking in crazy voices. He'd never done this before.

Yesterday, I went to his room to chat and see if I could find out when everyone was meeting for breakfast. He was friendly, though not as much as before. He did tease me about something he'd seen on my facebook. I stayed for about 20ish minutes, til I had to leave. Unfortunately, I was wearing this ring that looked like an engagement ring, and he stared intently as I played with it.