Women and artists?

There seems to be a cliché (I’m sure most of you have heard it before; I know I have) that women understand male artists (i.e. writers, musicians, painters, etc., not just painters and sculptors) better than other men and tend to be highly attracted to them. I know it’s impossible to generalize about a gender as a whole (:rolleyes:), but I was hoping I would get some opinions and anecdotes. Personally, being a writer myself, I’ve found the exact opposite to be true. Most women (and note I’m saying most and not all) tend to have no more understanding of artists than their male counterparts, and actually seem to shy away from relationships with artistic types, because artists have the tendency to be emotionally unstable, abnormally honest, and a bit incompetent with handling everyday things like relationships. IMO, at least. Anyway, any other thoughts?

My BF is an artist. He plays a variety of instruments, he paints, he draws, he carves tikis and he writes. Songs mostly.

He says I'm someone who 'gets' him. He claims his exW never did. She would complain if he'd grab his guitar and strum.

We have complete communication. He explains things to me in ways so that I can grasp what he's saying. I do the same with him.

I'm a bit artistic myself. More creative than artistic really. But maybe that's why we click so well.

I think that women may be attracted to the male artistic temperament, moreso than men attracted to the female artistic temperament. This may have something to do with the initial tapping of more emotional resources than in the “typical” man will let on initially. However, I don’t believe that women as a whole have any more innate understanding of artistic souls than do men. I think that only artists can ultimately understand each other, if anyone can at all, be it a man or a woman.