Generosity

CaptainStarr

Hello,

My girlfriend says that I am cheap and not generous.

I agree that I am not as generous as she is, but I do think that I am at least a little...

She grew up in a very generous family, I didn't.

One of the things she says I do that shows that I am not generous is to tell her what I have spent on her.

Now, becasue I am an Engineer, my thinking is very straight-forward and factual. I normally only say these things when she asks me what I have spent money on recently. When she asks I go through the list of EVERYTHING I have bought no matter what or who it was for.

The only time that I can remember doing it otherwise, although she says there have been many others, was when I got a really great deal on a large bunch of flowers for her, and in passing, mentioned how much they were.

I thought that she would be impressed with the deal that I got since I have done it before and she said nothing about me being cheap or not generous. Yet, she says that is wrong! She says telling someone how much you have spent on them is a bad thing to do, I agree, but i didn't do it on purpose.

Her way of dealing with this problem is splitting everything we buy together 50/50. To top it all off, she claims that it is my idea, because I have left her with no alternative.

She is not willing to get a joint account, which I do not understand! Wouldn't that be a good idea?

She says I am cheap. I used to buy her flowers from a street vendor every friday. After almost two months, she tells me that I am cheap for buying her "bad" flowers. She always said that the flowers were nice and that she liked them!

What am I missing! If she would have told me that she did not like them at all, I would not have got them at all. That makes me cheap?